• Caius
  • redboot
  • Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Help with Assault on Wielke Dzial
09-24-2010, 07:42 PM, (This post was last modified: 09-24-2010, 07:43 PM by Ozgur Budak.)
RE: Help with Assault on Wielke Dzial
I am not good with numbers too. But you can make historical comparisons. What is the chance of a PzIIIE against a KV1? Probably very slim even with a flank shot. Wehrmacht developed long barreled models which have at least 80-100 penetration values to be able to destroy monsters such as KV1. It could be just me but thinking about numbers too much seems to get the most of the fun of a wargame. Instead I prefer focusing on the historical knowledge and the tactics that really work on the field. That may take some time though.

(09-24-2010, 12:03 PM)GerryM Wrote: Hello:
Problem is I don't understand the numbers. Is it as simple as you need a Penetration value greater than the Armor value to have a chance to kill the AFV from the side?
I would have the same problem looking at "Heavy Tanks at Rossienie" where the PzKw III E only have a Penetration of 40 and the KV-1s have an Armor rating of 70.
Thanks,
Gerry
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2010, 11:26 PM, (This post was last modified: 09-24-2010, 11:26 PM by TheBigRedOne.)
(09-24-2010, 09:13 AM)Mad_Dog Wrote: I don't know of any charts, but comparing the armour and penetration values is a good way to start. Just open up different scenarios without Fog of war on, and compare the different vehicles and guns. If you wanted to make a chart, I'm sure others on the board would appreciate having it as a reference. ;)