• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Discord Server For the Blitz
02-04-2024, 02:11 AM,
RE: Discord Server For the Blitz
(02-03-2024, 12:22 PM)warhero88 Wrote: Thanks Nick! Im new to Discord server. Is there a hosting area to play PzC/MC games interactively?

The user interface for Discord (the desktop app, phone app, or the webpage) is the client.  There are numerous Discord servers.  Hex! being one of those.  Discord is first and foremost a communications application allowing people to chat and talk.  The cool thing that Discord does is that within a single server there can be multiple "channels" or "chat rooms" or calls set up.  The server admin configures how these different channels or rooms are established on each server.  So within one Discord you may have what looks like forums for various topics, voice channels for communications, etc.  There are not channels where you can virtually host a game as in a VASSAL, or Table Top Simulator that I'm aware of (maybe someone has created a plugin for that?).  You can share your computer desktop or a video stream (i.e. computer camera) within a channel.  That is great for teaching a game, or doing a demo, or even interacting during a game, which is the most common use of Discord.