• Caius
  • redboot
  • Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

How to Play Full Campaigns
01-17-2010, 02:49 PM, (This post was last modified: 01-18-2010, 01:32 AM by SuperIke.)
How to Play Full Campaigns
I've been playing PzC since a few months now. I have restricted myself mostly to small or medium scenarios, of about 25 turns or less.

I have now decided to tackle the full campaign of Korsun 44. That's 240 turns, and there is plenty of Soviet units to move. I do find it a bit tedious at times to insure I have moved or act on each and every unit.

My questions to veterans of the series: is there any advice you can give in making the management of hundreds and hundreds of units a bit easier ?

So far, I have discovered 3 things:

A) For formations away from the front, I use AI orders. Saves me the hassle of moving every individual unit (I have noticed though that the AI seems to be moving them according to a specific march order since for a given division under AI orders, some units move and some others don't dueing a turn?)

B) In areas where I don't expect to be doing any kind of offensive operations for now, I just don't bother moving these units. I let them where they are.

C) Replays can be AWFULLY long to watch. After some tinkering around, I have decided to run them at F8 all the time. However, to insure I am not missing major events happening somewhere on the front, I do a few snapshots of the "hot" areas with Disrupted units highlighted so that I can do a "before" and "after" the enemy turn comparison if I notice weird situations when playing my turn. I can then see any enemy moves and look at how much my units become disrupted as a result of the enemy's actions.

Any other hint or way of making things easier and faster when playing campaigns ?

Thanks !
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2010, 08:16 PM, (This post was last modified: 01-17-2010, 08:21 PM by Mr Grumpy.)
RE: How to Play Full Campaigns