• redboot
  • Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

How to find the parent unit in REN?
02-13-2019, 01:17 AM,
Help  How to find the parent unit in REN?
Hello everyone,

Nice to become part of this community as I'm new to JTS games. My question is on Renaissance. I try to make proper use of skirmish units, but how do I know what the parent unit is if I want to recombine them? There is no highlight option and the units names are pretty basic and not numbered or something like that. Looking into the manuals I couldn't find it. I only know if a unit has a skirmisher detached. 

Does anyone have an idea?

Thank you (maybe I'll have to return for another question someday)!
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2019, 03:36 AM,
RE: How to find the parent unit in REN?
[Image: 50ce15bfab98212195206.0374966001326794744.gif]
02-13-2019, 12:22 PM,
I'm not sure if there's a complete answer on that one. If you hit the "highlight org" button, you'll be able to see the other units that are in the same overall org as the skirmisher, but if there are more than one potential mother units it will be less useful.

Likewise you can use divisional colors, but it may only give you a "short list" of possible mother units.
Scenario Designer JTS Midway JTS Seven Years War JTS Wolfpack WDS Kriegsmarine
02-14-2019, 06:01 AM, (This post was last modified: 02-14-2019, 06:02 AM by Xaver.)
The only way to control who is the mother unit is not split them a lot and try dont mix them with other skirmishers from other units.

The problem is we dont have battalion names, the lowest here is... call it regimental name (for example the name of a tercio or other combat unit over battalion scale) and when you have more than 1 unit capable to deploy skirmish in the "regiment" you need control who is the mother unit for every skirmish unit.