• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Modern War
09-16-2018, 04:23 AM,
Modern War
I've been eyeing MW for sometime , I'm looking for some insight and opinions on this title . How well does the "engine " handle modern weapons,  I've seen on other forums posters stating the engine really struggles with combat resolution in a modern setting. I have some personal insight to operations and battles covered by the title how historic correct are the oob ?

Thankful for any insight
Animo Et Fide
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2018, 11:58 PM,
RE: Modern War
Hi,
I'm not an expert on Modern OOB's but my general impression of the SB series is that these are well researched and representative and I see no reason why MW should be otherwise. 

I dont see any issues with the game engine struggling with combat resolution in a modern setting either. 

Could you be specific about how it was viewed as "struggling with combat resolution in a modern setting"?
"Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake. It is impolite."
Napoleon I
09-17-2018, 03:10 AM,
Modern oob are well documented , if you have MW are the oob correct is my question ?

As far as my question on combat resolution in MW ,  in my search for AARs covering MW  I have read multiple post in forums and AARs stating SB "struggles" with complex modern weapon systems resulting in frustrating combat results. I figured this would be the most logical place to ask if there is anything to these opinions. 

The general "opinions" ive been seeing in AARs and other forum discussions is the SB engine was  " designed for Infantry combat" after Vietnam the engine  is not suited well for modern warfare tactics and weapon systems?
Animo Et Fide
09-17-2018, 04:21 AM,
(09-17-2018, 03:10 AM)19Delta Wrote: Modern oob are well documented , if you have MW are the oob correct is my question ?