• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Countering the Banzai attack
11-15-2017, 04:28 AM,
Countering the Banzai attack
I started playing RS and I find the Banzai attack a lot of fun.  However it is very powerful and painful when used against you. So I am wondering how best to counter the Banzai attack. 

First thoughts is it seems that the primary weakness of the Banzai is its vulnerability to firepower.  Retreats convert to losses and TEM are reduced.  The penalties for the Banzai attack extend throughout the following allied turn.  So keeping APs for Op Fire seems important to blunt the initial banzai.   Also using a defense in depth allowing for immediate counterattacks could be very effective.  After a banzai, move reserves to pointblank range and pour in the fire.   It seems like a screen in front of the  main line could be very effective in blunting the initial banzai followed by main force counterattacks. 

Roads and paths are particularly dangerous because a banzai attack can race along them and conduct multiple assaults.  The danger for the Japanese would be isolation on the following turn. 

Anyway, I am wondering what sort of tactics more experienced players are using to counter the Banzai?
Quote this message in a reply
11-15-2017, 09:41 AM,
RE: Countering the Banzai attack
You might find an interesting read here: https://www.theblitz.club/message_boards...ght=banzai

I stopped playing RS years ago, simply because not enough opponents. Mike West (Kool Kat) created some great custom scenarios for it which you should check out. However, he didn't care much for the banzai in the this game. His scenarios either recommended not using it, or only using it once per game.

Dave
Resolve then, that on this very ground, with small flags waving and tinny blasts on tiny trumpets, we shall meet the enemy, and not only may he be ours, he may be us. --Walt Kelly
Send this user an email
11-15-2017, 02:37 PM,