• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Off board arty and obstacles
07-26-2015, 12:47 AM,
c_Question Mark  Off board arty and obstacles
Can anyone please refresh my memory or tell me where to look in the "user" or "sqb" files to find the discussion regarding support fires (off board support) and the incidence of clearing obstacles such as wire?

I know I have seen this occur, and seem to recall that there is a minimum caliber requirement (150mm?) but can't seem to find the rules.

In my Winter War tourney scenario, I dropped Russian 122mm on wire and it did not clear. Is the round too small? Is there a percentage chance?

Any info would be appreciated, thanks gents!

Steve
Quote this message in a reply
07-27-2015, 09:05 AM,
RE: Off board arty and obstacles
I'm no expert on this, but it seems like if you go into the Database editor, the load has to have a "D" flag check, which stands for Demolition. It looks like for WW the only thing that has that designation are Satchel Charges, dynamite and a grenade bundle (I've used a Satchel charge to clear some wire in one game recently). I can't find anything in the User Manual that discusses this at all.

I also recall off-board arty clearing wire in the past, but I can't recall specifically what caliber or game it was in.

Now, don't take this for gospel, but it's about all I can come up with until Jeff gets back after being kidnapped by his better half for vacation...
Site Commander: Task Force Echo 4
07-27-2015, 01:25 PM,
Thanks Alan, that helped. But I think the weapon in the database must have a "E" for clearing, not a "D" (or maybe both work?).

Anyway, I looked at the database for Russian Victory and there I see a fair number of the heavier artillery rounds have the "E" flag. And I think it is in RV that I have seen the arty clear obstacles.

And ... TADA .... I have found it! From the sqdata.pdf under section Load Dialog: