• Caius
  • redboot
  • Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

The Battle for the Dak To Hills
09-20-2014, 07:51 PM, (This post was last modified: 09-21-2014, 01:55 AM by burroughs.)
RE: The Battle for the Dak To Hills
As usual the point I am making is that one thing is to beat the AI, but the proof can only be in defeating a human opponent. I have been studying the Vietnam War in great detail since 2004, made it a part of a master thesis of mine and have also been playing both Vietnam and ToD ( along with other wargames and simulation covering the conflict )since 2012 regularly in the PBEM mode; one of the lessons learnt that way is that a lot of fellow grognards seemed to avoid playing either of the games as being very unbalanced and objectives often unattainable. At some point, yet before 2012 when I got back to it, I also deemed the level of losses taken by MACV forces in most of the scenarios and a couple of other factors present in the game - ahistoric OrBat and leaders preventing from enhancing the gaming experience with learning some history behind and all for a false assumption of violating "political correctness" otherwise- as unacceptably unrealistic according to what I had learnt about the war from lots of sources available.
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2014, 12:36 AM,
Thanks for answer.
09-21-2014, 11:39 AM,
(09-20-2014, 04:23 PM)Micha Wrote:
(09-20-2014, 09:40 AM)kolc Wrote: Part of understanding how to play SB games is knowing when not to fire....

Hello, could you please explain this a bit more ?
The closer the enemy...the more damage you are likely to inflict...especially if your weapons still have high effectiveness....
09-21-2014, 07:07 PM,
Thanks for the tip.
09-21-2014, 11:01 PM, (This post was last modified: 09-21-2014, 11:13 PM by TheBigRedOne.)