• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

ME 67 Volcano Mod question
02-22-2014, 01:13 AM,
RE: ME 67 Volcano Mod question
An interesting idea, although it sounds like it might be complex to implement a variable line of site.

My experience with WWII games is that its fairly common to treat Clear/Open terrain as causing units to be much more vulnerable to fire. This makes perfect sense. Of course, in the real world, my impression is that totally flat terrain is rare. Even in what appears to be open terrain, slight changes in the topography can provide concealment, cover, etc, that might not even be apparent to the naked eye. However, clear terrain is much less effective than other types of cover, so I have no issue with a 0% modifier.

I have little to no knowledge of the terrain in North Africa and the Levant, but if the open/desert hexes are as flat and featureless as say, Kansas, Volcano Man's +20% modifier seems appropriate. However, a smoke and dust-filled battlefield might negate this vulnerability. To me, it seems that we need to ask how often smoke and dust significantly impacted visibility. Even if this is the case, then the question is whether the "dice rolls" incorporate these factors (i.e., one could conceptualize a "no result" or "1 man" fire attack as having been affected by visibility)

At this point I have three titles (K '42, Salerno '43, and ME '67). I have been very pleased at how flexible the system is. Each title has a distinct feel appropriate to the time, setting, and situation-- and the players have to adjust their tactics accordingly.