• Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Bunker Busting and armor
12-07-2013, 01:41 AM,
Bunker Busting and armor
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the Panzer Campaign system, and though I've picked up quite a bit through discussions with my PBEM opponents, I'm still learning.

So far, the toughest aspect of the game to master is attacking bunkers (though opposed river crossings can be quite difficult as well). I've read most every article I can find regarding the game, including RickyB's excellent article, "Attacking Fortified Positions."

One of the tips I keep reading about is to use armor to fire on bunkers, as they tend to have superior hard attack values. This tactic seems reasonable, but I (and another one of my opponents who is fairly new) have yet to see it actually work. Generally, when my armor fires vs. a bunker I get a "No Effect" result. Unsupported assaults are disastrous as well. I've tried grouping my armor with infantry when firing as well.

What am I missing? Is there a particular technique to employing armor vs. bunkers? FWIW, my only title at the moment is Kharkov '42 (though that will soon change Smile), so I realize this problem might relate to the limitations of the Soviets at the time.
Quote this message in a reply
12-07-2013, 02:08 AM, (This post was last modified: 12-07-2013, 03:01 AM by Tide1.)
RE: Bunker Busting and armor
(12-07-2013, 01:41 AM)Caiussulla Wrote: Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the Panzer Campaign system, and though I've picked up quite a bit through discussions with my PBEM opponents, I'm still learning.

So far, the toughest aspect of the game to master is attacking bunkers (though opposed river crossings can be quite difficult as well). I've read most every article I can find regarding the game, including RickyB's excellent article, "Attacking Fortified Positions."