• Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Cavalry Squadrons??
07-07-2013, 10:52 PM,
Cavalry Squadrons??
Hi Guys,

Since I am fairly new to the BP/CS genre of gaming, I have a question pertaining to the Nappy Series. What is the benefit of converting a larger cavalry into Squadrons? I mean, I know you get more units doing this, but each squadron is now smaller than its parent unit. How does one benefit from this if the infantry units are so much larger than the Cavalry squadrons? As an amateur, it seems to me, that it would behoove a player to keep the Cavalry units as large as possible, so as to be able to charge an infanty unit with the most positive results. Also, does the cavalry unit get a bonus for charging? For example, does it make sense for a cavalry group of say 400 men to charge a 600 man infantry group when in 'Charging' mode

Regards

Mike
Quote this message in a reply
07-08-2013, 01:52 PM,
RE: Cavalry Squadrons??
Use them for screening your flanks, or for recon.
07-08-2013, 09:30 PM,
Liebchen is correct in that why do recon with a 600 man cavalry unit when you can cover so much more ground with 4 150 man squadrons. Same with screening your flanks.
If you check the manual you'll find a section about cavalry charging and you will see that you do indeed get a bonus when in "charging" mode. I think it may still vary somewhat between games but it usually ranges from x3 to x5. This leads to another reason to use squadrons. Say you want to charge a 200 man infantry battalion. If you use the entire 600 man cavalry unit it will be disrupted when the melee is over but if you use just 2 of the 150 man squadrons you'll still have great odds and still have 2 fresh 150 man squadrons to look for other opportunities. Also be sure to look in the manual for the part about cavalry against skirmishers. Again it would be a waste to do this with the full unit when a couple of squadrons will do all you need.
07-09-2013, 01:37 PM,
Gentleman