• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

a few new player questions
11-22-2012, 08:11 AM,
a few new player questions
Hello. I recently started playing squad battles and I picked up the Winter War game. I began the "getting started" scenario as the Finns and had some questions.

1) I am trying to use my southern squads as a flanking force while my other forces tie down the defending Soviets. Is there flanking fire bonuses in squad battles? The way it seems is that flank fire attacks don't do much in the game. A few other tactical games I have played have a bonus for flank attacks.

2) Do infantry units have a facing? Is there an arc of fire for units firing?

3) Is it better to get within 4-5 hexes of the enemy and use direct fire repeatedly until a pinned result occurs? I can't seem to get a squad close enough to assault without getting shredded to pieces.

I have read the squad battles new players thread here but I am finding it difficult to play as the attacker in this scenario. Any help/advice is appreciated.
Quote this message in a reply
11-22-2012, 10:11 AM, (This post was last modified: 11-22-2012, 10:12 AM by gabeeg.)
RE: a few new player questions
(11-22-2012, 08:11 AM)Bacillus98 Wrote: Hello. I recently started playing squad battles and I picked up the Winter War game. I began the "getting started" scenario as the Finns and had some questions.

1) I am trying to use my southern squads as a flanking force while my other forces tie down the defending Soviets. Is there flanking fire bonuses in squad battles? The way it seems is that flank fire attacks don't do much in the game. A few other tactical games I have played have a bonus for flank attacks.

A: There is no flanking bonus vs. infantry but you do get a better kill result vs. armor

2) Do infantry units have a facing? Is there an arc of fire for units firing?