• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Question re: Action Cost & Movement Allowance
12-26-2010, 02:52 AM,
Question re: Action Cost & Movement Allowance
I am a veteran Campaign Series ("CS") player making the jump to Panzer Campaigns ("PzC").

In CS, a unit's actions are limited by the number of Action Points ("AP") it has. Firing costs 35 AP and movements costs are determined by the terrain being moved into as well as the specific kind of moving unit. For example, in CS, it costs less for a T-34 to enter a particular terrain than a Tiger, even though both units are "tanks."

In PzC, a unit's actions appear to be limited by its Movement Allowance ("MA"), which appears to be modified by a units quality, i.e., Morale A thru F.

In CS, I'm able to plan my actions ahead of time because I know how much AP certain actions cost. In PzC, I am having difficulty doing this.

Using the Parameter Data Dialog, I think I am able to re-calculate the cost of movement, but deploying and firing (and maybe assaulting) do not appear to cost as much movement allowance as the manual says it should. Also, I am not sure how "speed" affects cost since it appears, for example, that all armored cars expend 6 MA to enter clear terrain even though, for example, in CS a German armored car, in general, has better off-road speed than a Soviet armored car.

Can a veteran PzC player explain to me how the cost of deploying, firing and assaulting is determined? I'd rather not rely on the "Save Movement Cost" button, as it seems off sometimes (probably because I don't understand how the cost is being calculated).

Thanks in advance. I hope to try my first PzC Play by E-mail game as soon as I've learned the PzC game system.
Quote this message in a reply
12-27-2010, 12:52 AM,
RE: Question re: Action Cost & Movement Allowance