• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

"Gamey" tactics
07-24-2010, 03:53 AM,
RE: "Gamey" tactics
The capture objectives can really change how you play the game. There is a KW scenario, Canadians on Patrol, with two capture objectives. I considered them the intelligence the patrol was supposed to gather, and once I had them my plan was to head back to my lines. It changes how you think when you don't have to hold on to them, it worked well for that scenario.

I'm a hussar, I'm a Hun,  I'm a wretched Englishman
Routing Bonaparte at Waterloo
I'm a dragoon on a dun, I'm a Cossack on the run
I'm a horse soldier, timeless, through and through

Corb Lund - Horse Soldier, Horse Soldier

Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2010, 05:33 AM,
Capture objectives come with their own problems. No solution is without some exploit. As Mad Dog points out, capture objectives make a lot of sense in a certain context. In other situations a designer can get weird results. I have played games where once the objective on one side of the board is "touched" by occupying the hex, such as just moving through it thus "capturing the VP"; then the attacking force concentrates all their forces on the other side of the board without any regard to flank security to overwhelm the defense there. This works best where the attacker has superior mobility (roads, no streams etc) or the terrain lends itself to the attacker being able to interdict such a shift by the defense due to a choke point near the first objective.

I am sure the SB community has seen many such examples in other game systems of what I am trying to describe here.