• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

What SB title to Start With
07-16-2009, 06:53 AM,
What SB title to Start With
I am a veteran of PzC and ACW games but have yet to try anything in the Squad Battle series. Is there any SB title that stands out over the others or should a novice just pick the one with the most appealing subject matter?
Quote this message in a reply
07-16-2009, 07:13 AM,
RE: What SB title to Start With
I'd chose the subject matter that interests you, which is why I bought Vietnam initially. Ultimately, I think you'll be happiest with this criteria as your initial choice. HPS typically puts out updates to the older games to bring them up to the current game engine, so you're covered in that respect.

The one thing I will say is that the older titles often have scenario balance issues, but with so many post-release scenarios out there, even that isn't quite as big of an issue. The newer games, from SAW forward were playtested pretty thoroughly for balance and playability, but you can't go wrong with most any choice.

What game would you chose under these notions?
Site Commander: Task Force Echo 4
07-16-2009, 07:21 AM,
I Agree with Alan go with what title interest you the most
07-16-2009, 09:44 AM, (This post was last modified: 07-16-2009, 09:45 AM by Doctor.)
There so many good choices, Winter War, Advance of the Reich and Korea come to mind as good ones.
07-16-2009, 10:40 AM,
Doctor Wrote:There so many good choices, Winter War, Advance of the Reich and Korea come to mind as good ones.

I haven't played much AoTR, but it's got some fantastic after release scenarios that you can find on the new and revamped Task Force Echo 4 (how's that for self-promotion...).