• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Winzip
04-04-2008, 04:40 AM,
Off Topic  Winzip
Has anyone here ever paid for Winzip. Ive been using it probably for 8 years and never paid for it but now it has stopped working. Ive tried downloading the free version and it wont work either. Is there any way around paying $29 for it or should i pay the man.

Aaron
Rangers Lead the Way
Quote this message in a reply
04-04-2008, 05:42 AM,
RE: Winzip
There is an alternative:

http://www.7-zip.org/
Send this user an email
04-04-2008, 09:33 AM,
Why not just use what comes with XP (and Vista).
Just select the file, then Right Click => Send to => Compressed File.

It makes a zip which can be read by wnzip at the other end or smply comressed files using XP.

It doesn't have a lot of features and the worse thing with it that I find is when you zip a bunch of files and the ZIP name has been used before, than the new zip may contain the old files. But for BTE files it should work nicely.

Glenn
Send this user an email
04-04-2008, 04:12 PM,
Glenn Saunders Wrote:Why not just use what comes with XP (and Vista).
Just select the file, then Right Click => Send to => Compressed File.

It makes a zip which can be read by wnzip at the other end or smply comressed files using XP.

It doesn't have a lot of features and the worse thing with it that I find is when you zip a bunch of files and the ZIP name has been used before, than the new zip may contain the old files. But for BTE files it should work nicely.

Glenn

Having come to PC's very late in life i have only ever had XP and i have never needed winzip because of the built in feature Glenn has highlighted...:chin:
04-05-2008, 01:16 AM,
Thanks, ill have to check on the compressed XP but if my memory is still intake i believe when u use it to compress the .oob,.pdt and .scn it never uncompresses correctly. Ill check it out tomorrrow. First weekend off and home in 2 months.

Aaron
Rangers Lead the Way