• Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Patience -it's all in the Game
02-25-2008, 05:20 AM,
Patience -it's all in the Game
:soap:

Please forgive this reflection and diatribe. I have been a member of this club since Smolensk was first released eons ago. I have seen heros like Escher and Cap'n'Gown come and go. As a newbie, I challenged each of these icons, and got my ass thoroughly whipped. However, they taught me alot and were very polite and informative. I stuck it out, because one can have fun even losing, and the learning potential of defeat is enormous.

In the past several months I have politely accepted several unsolicited challenges from newbies. These were long campaigns and I was prepared for the long haul. In each case, the challenger simply vanished into cyberspace after what they perceived to be an inauspicious start for them. I consider this to be the height of rudeness. If you challenge an experienced veteran, you may get a good olde fashion ass whipping, but it can be very instructive. Here is a golden piece of advice given to me by Cap'n'Gown:

The most important virtue and asset, crucial to success in these games, is quite simply: "patience;" nothing more, and nothing less.

Please be patient, a 100 - 421 move campaign is not lost in the first 2 - 8 moves; you may feel like it but alot can happen. Do not go off sulking, whining and whimpering like a b$#ch into cyberspace, rather, stick it out like a man for awhile and see what happens; most of all, enjoy the games.

Thanks,

Marquo :)
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2008, 07:55 AM,
RE: Patience -it's all in the Game