• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Little Tactical Problem ** SPOILER KC Major Bake **
01-28-2008, 02:52 AM,
Little Tactical Problem ** SPOILER KC Major Bake **
Okay, first off this thread will contain a fairly major spoiler for HSG KC Major Bake H2H so if you ever want to play it blind READ NO FURTHER.

Secondly I'm new to the whole screenie thing so they may be a bit pants, bare with me and any advice gratefully received.

Now, in a recent game I came across the following little problem which struck me as interesting for a number of reasons.
I'll give you the situation, lay out the problem, invite discussion and in a couple of days I'll post up my solution and the (fairly comical) results.
I should stress that there are no right answers and indeed I'm not sure mine was right as such so chip in if you have any ideas.
Quote this message in a reply
01-28-2008, 03:09 AM,
RE: Little Tactical Problem ** SPOILER KC Major Bake **
[Image: Problemannotated.jpg]
Weather is heavy fog, dawn so max visibility is down.

Late in the game a PzIV pops out of the fog and systematically routs one of my two platoons guarding the flag. This leaves me with a platoon of green (2x green, 2x conscript with a regular leader) rifle squads with which to assault and kill a PzIV.
On our side we have the fog, I'm fairly certain he hasn't seen the platoon (too busy shooting up the other platoon) and just off camera I have an ATR who is pumping rounds in from 80 odd metres. A quick check of the tables shows he may even get a penetration but either way the crew is buttoned and distracted.
The whole platoon is in command and rested.
On the other side of the coin i dont have any time, its turn 22 of 20+ so sneaking is out of the question.
The only forces available are those mentioned, i have tanks etc but they are too far away to affect the issue.