• Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Thinking of Joining Ladder
06-10-2006, 11:53 PM,
Thinking of Joining Ladder
Gents,

I have been contemplating Joining the ACW ladder.
I have a couple of questions though'

I have noticed that there are 3 different games series supported'

Talonsoft Battleground Series.
Sid Meyers Series
and (Hps?) Campaign Series.

What do the preponderance of the players on the ladder play?
Are there any pros or cons for each? I was toying with the idea of the Talonsoft series, but I am having a hard time finding it even on E-Bay.
I haven't bought any of the games yet so I am very much open to suggestion.

Michael
:conf:
Quote this message in a reply
06-11-2006, 12:26 AM, (This post was last modified: 06-11-2006, 09:21 PM by Abatis.)
RE: Thinking of Joining Ladder
Michael,

I'm new to this ladder too...

...pretty sure this place is HPS dominated...I have all the BG games...just got HPS Gettysburg...it really looks like this series of HPS games are Tiller's "final draft" so to speak on his 32 bit versions of the BG games...They are very similar from my initial viewing...I'm sure a vet or 3 will chime in.

Incidentally, I have the SidMier games too...have never played them vs a human...they seem like Close Combat for the Civil War....it can be a click fest, but you can slow things down to a crawl...no pbem though, gotta play live if I recall correctly...I personaly have no problem with real time games if the absractions seem sound, and things can be slowed down to a manageble level...don't want it to be a test of reflexes! Much can be said IMHO about the nature of having to make "snap" decisions while the fight is going on around you...it's a tough balancing act though; simulation vs video game, and I think most guys around here shun realtime (usually with good reason!).