• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Fog of war anyone? Poll
01-16-2024, 03:07 PM,
Fog of war anyone? Poll
I'm new to TOC games, I've only played 3 games not against the AI and only from the FWWC series. In fact, this is basically the only online/computer gaming of this kind I've ever done.

I love the experience of fog of war, you know, sending out the cavalry, trying to predict what my opponent might be up to, the excitement of committing the troops to some plan in the face of the unknown, etc. Of course this is all made easier with computers as opposed to the good old days of players being in the same room seeing the same map. 

Anyway, the thought occurred to me, while I may have checked the FOW box, did my opponent?

The poll -

1. Do you prefer FOW on or off?
2. Do you talk about this with your opponent(s) before starting a game or is it just assumed?
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2024, 04:21 PM,
RE: Fog of war anyone? Poll
(01-16-2024, 03:07 PM)Almskaar Wrote: I'm new to TOC games, I've only played 3 games not against the AI and only from the FWWC series. In fact, this is basically the only online/computer gaming of this kind I've ever done.

I love the experience of fog of war, you know, sending out the cavalry, trying to predict what my opponent might be up to, the excitement of committing the troops to some plan in the face of the unknown, etc. Of course this is all made easier with computers as opposed to the good old days of players being in the same room seeing the same map. 

Anyway, the thought occurred to me, while I may have checked the FOW box, did my opponent?

The poll -

2. Do you talk about this with your opponent(s) before starting a game or is it just assumed?

I have never played a game without fog of war, so I guess that it is assumed and preferred.