• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Wargame to Research Novel
05-14-2020, 02:51 AM,
Feedback Needed  Wargame to Research Novel
I’m writing a novel set on the Eastern Front in WW2 during Operation Bagration and the war in East Prussia. I’ve done a lot of reading and research on the subject, including memoirs, but think that a computer game/simulation set during the conflict would help me with better understanding, and improve realism in the story. I’d be looking for a game that focuses more on warfare at the tactical level.

I have no military experience, and have little experience with computer wargames.
I used to play Panzer Strike! on my Commodore 64 (which I loved), and have purchased Combat Mission Red Thunder. I’ve spent some time playing it, but I’m still learning, as it’s quite complex. I’ve thought about getting Steel Division 2 as well, which is set during Operation Bagration. Maybe CMRT is my best option, but I’m interested in any thoughts from the perspective of more experienced wargamers, and whether there are any other games or resources I should consider.

I have a new PC running Win10.

Many thanks for any help or advice!
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2020, 04:47 PM,
RE: Wargame to Research Novel
(05-14-2020, 02:51 AM)Corynh Wrote: I’m writing a novel set on the Eastern Front in WW2 during Operation Bagration and the war in East Prussia. I’ve done a lot of reading and research on the subject, including memoirs, but think that a computer game/simulation set during the conflict would help me with better understanding, and improve realism in the story. I’d be looking for a game that focuses more on warfare at the tactical level.

I have no military experience, and have little experience with computer wargames.