• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Confused on game mechanics
05-28-2017, 09:10 AM,
Confused on game mechanics
Ok, since I am new to the game series especially mp I would appreciate some clarification on a situation that seems to make no sense to me.

Ok so here is the situation.

Battle of Voltri.....I am Austria  My line unit is just over 500 men in good order.  I have a French unit flanked and in a firefight with another Austrian unit.  I move my 500 man Regiment up and fire into the French units back.  The French unit is just over 700 men.  I kill 39 men and disorder them.  I than charge the French unit in its rear and I am thrashed.  Its not even close.  I lose 92 men and the disordered, flanked French lose 8.  Both forces quality is "C" 

I don't understand how being flanked and disorganized the French can still be that good.  I would have to charge them in the front.

Logan
Quote this message in a reply
05-28-2017, 11:23 AM,
RE: Confused on game mechanics
(05-28-2017, 09:10 AM)Bloody Bill Wrote: Ok, since I am new to the game series especially mp I would appreciate some clarification on a situation that seems to make no sense to me.

Ok so here is the situation.

Battle of Voltri.....I am Austria  My line unit is just over 500 men in good order.  I have a French unit flanked and in a firefight with another Austrian unit.  I move my 500 man Regiment up and fire into the French units back.  The French unit is just over 700 men.  I kill 39 men and disorder them.  I than charge the French unit in its rear and I am thrashed.  Its not even close.  I lose 92 men and the disordered, flanked French lose 8.  Both forces quality is "C" 

I don't understand how being flanked and disorganized the French can still be that good.  I would have to charge them in the front.

Logan

Well, regardless of any other factors, I do note that you were attacking them at less than even odds. That's rarely a good idea, in any wargame.