• Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

The Saga of Hex 42,13 ........
01-22-2016, 01:26 AM,
The Saga of Hex 42,13 ........
Hello All,

I've been playing PzC for over ten years, but have only dabbled with PzB Kursk - I bought PzB Normandy on the day in came out as I'm a big fan of both the Normandy area and the campaign.

I read the salient points of the manuals (so I thought), played a couple of small scenarios, did some mods to taste ...... and then jumped into #0730_01 Operation Bluecoat.

It was all going according to plan until ....... 42,13 !!

( I'm playing solitaire vrs German AI with FOW off for fun and experience )

In the "Bluecoat" scenario in hex 42,13 the Stab I/Gren-Regt 752 (41 men morale B) is set up with I/Gren-Regt 752 (2) (12 8cm Mortars) starts in a Bunkered hex on Scattered terrain.

I initially attacked this hex using the entire 2nd Fife & Forfar Yeomanry tank battalion(regt) (61 Shermans inc Fireflys) and over a period of 20 turns at range 2 inflicted not one bit of damage or fatigue loss on either German unit despite artillery fires to the hex, and the isolated state of the Germans too - at the end of the 20 so turns the 2nd F & F Yeo had lost 23 Shermans of various sorts from return fire, mostly from the one German mortar unit and its divisional artillery support.

The hex finally fell to infantry assaults by the supporting 1st Herefords on the still isolated Germans on turn 31 (as it should do too !! ) ... however this was done using very chancey "banzai" assaults, and getting a lucky disruption on the German mortar following one of them.

After 30+ turns my frustration levels were very high - that high I nearly threw the mouse at the screen ( as you do ! ) - so feeling particularly grumpy I emailed for help and had the following return from my mentor:-

"Chris,

Hex 42,13. Welcome to the bocage.