• Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Questions about AotR and RV
05-21-2013, 01:18 PM,
Questions about AotR and RV
Hello All:

Thinking of getting back into Squad Battles. I tried AotR some years ago.

1. At that time I thought some of the AotR scenarios were quite unbalanced and IIRC someone on the forum indicated this also. How are the Red Victory scenarios balance-wise?

2. I hate the look of the counters in the games. I just cannot understand the low quality when computers are so powerful today. Any good mods for the counters and terrain that I could try in AotR to see if I like them? (not interested in sound mods).

I would prefer counter mods that have symbols of men something like in ASL counters but does not have to be a direct ASL mod.

Thanks in advance,

Gerry
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2013, 09:56 PM,
RE: Questions about AotR and RV
Greetings to you Gerry!

I am fairly new to the SqB system, but am loving it! I have had AOTR for about six weeks, and into my sixth PBEM game. I am not an expert, but will give an opinion to your questions:

1. From what I have seen RV is a well-balanced game with excellent scenarios.

2. I am not a "mod" guy, but doubtless several will also chip in to say that there are some good mods out there.

I would be most happy to ease you back into the fray with a game or two.

Steve
05-22-2013, 01:15 AM,
Ozgur did the scenarios for RV and he is the best SB scenario designer I have seen. The quality of the scenarios is much, much better than AOTR. I am not a mod guy either, but there are many here who are. You might take a look over at Task Force Echo Four and see what they have there for download. TF E4 is probably the best source for that kind of thing, at least that I am aware of. There are also a considerable number of scenarios available there, some of which are quite good.

Jeff
05-22-2013, 01:15 AM,