• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Tank assaults
02-14-2013, 03:41 AM,
Tank assaults
How do infantry defend themself for tank assaults? Tank assault is destroying all squad ):
Quote this message in a reply
02-14-2013, 08:45 AM,
RE: Tank assaults
They often can't defend. If they have any sort of AT weapon it can be hazardous to the tank, they can be easily immobolized. If you are the assaulter, then keep an eye on your tanks status, because after repeated successful assaults it can be immobolized as well.

I'm a hussar, I'm a Hun,  I'm a wretched Englishman
Routing Bonaparte at Waterloo
I'm a dragoon on a dun, I'm a Cossack on the run
I'm a horse soldier, timeless, through and through

Corb Lund - Horse Soldier, Horse Soldier

02-14-2013, 03:57 PM,
About the only thing you can do is try to keep your infantry in covered terrain. This causes an immobilization check for the tank. Otherwise, you are pretty much just hamburger waiting to happen.

Jeff
02-15-2013, 01:02 AM,
Check whether you have any antitank weapon, if you dont get out of the clear terrain. Apart from the advantages of the covered terrain Jeff mentioned tanks cannot enter some hexes (city, marsh, industrial etc) so you will be safe there.
02-15-2013, 01:44 AM,
If you are unsure what "covered" terrain is, and I was when I first ttok up ES two months ago, look at the hex information box. This is the area of the lower screen that gives the terrain, elevation, and visibility information. "Covered" terrain is any hex that has an attribute of "C" inside of parentheses. For example, you might see:

Town (OC) 4m
Protection 12
Elevation 45m
Visibility 30h

The "(OC)" means that the terrain, in addition to being a town, is obstructed which prevents helos from landing (not a concern in ES, but others games) and is covered.