• Blitz Shadow Player
  • Caius
  • redboot
  • Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Alt or Stock scenarios: Which tend to be better? (newbie question)
12-16-2009, 07:53 AM,
Alt or Stock scenarios: Which tend to be better? (newbie question)
Hey guys,

I am a newbie to the Panzer Campaign series, I only have one game so far (Budapest '45). I have downloaded Volcano Man's mod which adds so much to the game through it's improved art assets. I have to ask you guys though, overall, do you think the alt scenarios or stock scenarios tend to be better? Would you say that one or the other tends to focus more on historical accuracy? Does one tend to focus more on play balance? I realize the two things are sometimes in conflict with each other. Thanks in advance for educating this newb. cheers
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2009, 08:27 AM,
RE: Alt or Stock scenarios: Which tend to be better? (newbie question)
Hello Dustin,
Welcome to the OpS ladder, hope you have some fun here.

As you might guess that is a difficult question to give a definitive answer too, but it really comes down to taste, some players like the default stock scenarios, some players like Volcano Man's (VM) _Alt versions and some players play both! :)

VM scenarios are an edited version of the stock scenario and use a different set of OOB and PDT files which are designed to work with a unique set of combat values he has created, another thing you get with VM _Alt scenarios is continuity as no matter which title you are playing the scenarios use his PDT/OOB files and the same set of optional rules, this is not true of the default stock scenarios which were created by various designers and use different opt rules as default, also _Alt scenarios are always aimed at the PBEM community with play against the AI not a priority.