• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Why Tactical?
05-20-2009, 02:05 AM,
Why Tactical?
There are wide choices in Wargames on the market. Operational, tactical, hypothetical, historical.

Now, I'm going to admit that this was a subject of a thread on GameSquad brought up a long while ago when I was a SB newbie. One of the replies pretty much sums it up:

Quote:The thrill of holding your trigger while watching an enemy tank moving towards your positions.

Watching the sound of enemy artillery and waiting to see if they calculated the target hex accurately.

Silently watching enemy platoon coming into the killing field you deployed carefully. Trying to avoid your heart saying FIRE FIRE FIRE. No just wait one more turn.

Killing an enemy officer and pinning his squad with a sniper in the woods from 20 hexes. Redeploying the sniper and watching enemy throwing everything he has to the -now empty- hex the shot fired.

Tactical rules

O. Budak

What makes tactical level games so appealing to you?
Site Commander: Task Force Echo 4
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2009, 03:44 AM, (This post was last modified: 05-20-2009, 03:46 AM by barnacle bob.)
RE: Why Tactical?
Logistics. I don't have to worry about keeping my troops supplied. :)

It's more personnel. I get a feeling of being closer to the action.

For me Oz sums it up very well.
06-04-2009, 03:38 AM, (This post was last modified: 06-04-2009, 04:03 AM by Riley D. Smith.)
I have never been very good a playing operational scaled wargames. The only exception is the CS, which imo sort of bridges that gap between tactical and operational fairly well.