• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

The Game is Broken
12-18-2008, 08:21 AM,
The Game is Broken
I think the basic game program for Ancient Wars is "Broken".

If you have "Gallic Wars", play the Roman vs Parthian scenario. I thought this scenario was included simply as an "Object Leson", as it is most certainly based on Carrhae, but was I surprised.

Watch Roman Legionary soldiers catch your horse archers! I admit, I am a newbie, but PLEASE, the game has a serious design flaw. There is NO WAY Roman Legionaries catch skirmishing light cavalry in melee. It just did not happen.

I know it's a game, but this is just pitiful gents, just pitiful.

Does anyone have a direct email to the designer?

We really need to talk.

- Greg
Send this user an email
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2008, 12:49 AM,
RE: The Game is Broken
Hi.

Post it on the AWWC ladder and you´ll get contact to the designers.

Cheers, Klaus
Sic transit Gloria Mundi !
12-19-2008, 05:39 AM,
So far, I cannot seem to get the time of day on that site.

Joined, and have not heard from the Roman group, cannot get access into the Roman forum, but can get into the Celt & Carthage pages; go figure that one.

Icons on the main page don't work. The only one to even respond has been Rich.

Not a great start, to say the least.
Send this user an email
12-19-2008, 11:43 AM,
Hi.

Send the files to my email address, attach the password and a brief
comment about what´s happened.
I´ll send them to Paul Bruffel, the designer of the ancient war series.

Don´t worry, the Romans will take care for you:)

Cheers, Klaus
12-28-2008, 12:37 AM,
Thanks Klaus, but I over write the file each time I try a new scenario.

I have still not heard from the Roman CiC on the site, and I must admit I am also becoming a bit disappointed in the game. The mechanics seem so very abstract, and IMO, from what I have seen so far, the game does not encompass or address what I was looking for.