• Caius
  • redboot
  • Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Realistic Artillery Management - FOO Rule
11-20-2008, 09:23 AM, (This post was last modified: 11-20-2008, 09:30 AM by Cross.)
Realistic Artillery Management - FOO Rule
Preamble

The 'optional FOO rule' came up in discussion over at the Shrapnel site, and that caused me to start a thread about Realistic Artillery Management by a FOO; but someone sensibly pointed out that it may be useful to discuss it here.

I'm not trying to change anyones mind on the current 'optional FOO rule' and think Chris' intuition to address the situation was right. But even though I'm no expert, I'd like to try to share my understanding of WW2 artillery management and get others input.

FOO Rule

I think the "gamey" concern is the apparent control, by the FOO, of individual guns; which appears to allow him to plot each gun at individual targets all over the map. I agree this is somewhat gamey.

The optional FOO rule at the Blitz (in a nut shell) only allows a FOO to plot artillery on one hex. So you have to buy multiple FOOs to have even slight control of artillery on the battlefield.

IMHO this option essentially uses a 1000Kg bomb to KO a pesky jeep.

Realistic FOO Abilities

My understanding of reality, is that a FOO would normally control a minimum of a troop of guns or platoon of mortars (about 4 tubes), rather than individual guns.

However, and this is important, the FOO would give directions to the troop/battery commander who would control the individual guns. And this control could be precise and varied. Artillery was the most sophisticated arm of the army.

The FOO could order all sorts of different types of barrages, which effectively controlled the targeting of individual guns.

Lines

The FOO would choose the spacing, the troop or battery commander would make it happen.