• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

FASCAM - Gamey or not?
08-18-2008, 01:10 AM,
FASCAM - Gamey or not?
Wow, I have been playing a D85 multiplayer game and have been continually amazed at the power of FASCAM! I am currently looking at what would be about 15 KM of FASCAM fired to isolate an American Brigade. I know that this has been discussed before but I just have to say this is insane. In my military experience this is impossible. The normal use of FASCAM is to find restrictive terrain that creates chokepoints and utilize your FASCAM to reinforce the barrier nature of the terrain. The amount of ammunition required to support what is shown on my game screen would be nearly impossible. Additionally, the enemy arty would be entirely tied down in trying to fire this impossible mission. It would take a long time for arty battalions to fire the amount of FASCAM to obtain ISOLATION status over 15 KM. My major issue is the isolation status. This is not realistic and rarely obtainable in the real world. Additionally, all it takes is a single mine plow tank or a squad of engineers with grappling hooks to clear a FASCAM minefield when not under fire. This brings up my last point. Obstacles are only truly effective if they meet the holy trinity of observation, direct fire, and indirect fire coverage. Firing a FASCAM 20 KM in the rear of the enemy will have only a fleeting and limited effect. Once the lead vehicle is destroyed the convoy will simply bypass or breach the minefield. It would never isolate or even really slow down a unit that isn't under fire. In daylight you can literally drive around the individual mines especially if they are laying on a road!

Okay, venting complete. This is my recommendation. FASCAM is retained and disrupts units as they cross the minefield but they should in no way have the ability to isolate units. My measly 2 cents. Blast away fellow gamers!
Quote this message in a reply