• Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads

Anybody tried the WL Campaign?
01-29-2007, 02:50 PM,
Smile  Anybody tried the WL Campaign?
[font=Verdana]I took a look at it and it seemed the French might never get across the river! Has anyone out there actually played it a bit? thanks, von Ege[color=navy]
Quote this message in a reply
01-30-2007, 03:13 PM,
RE: Anybody tried the WL Campaign?
Red Mike and I are about half way done the 300+ turn campaign.We are playing the one with the strategic options.As Nappy, I decided to attack via Mons and caught my opponent off balance. Interesting so far!
01-30-2007, 04:02 PM,
I like to ask Rich Hamilton if he's ever tried to cross the river against the Prussian opposition that is in place for the Campaign scenario? Is the reinforcement schedule accurate as to time and entry area? I'm not an expert, but I've been told that it's not. Just a look and a little play testing tells me that crossing that river is a major operation, and, didn't the French actually cross there rather easily? von Ege :P
01-30-2007, 05:31 PM,
The deployments in the campaign game are not historicaly accurate for the Prussians, or for the arriving French, as far as I can judge. The system is poorly designed for multi day fights. (Leaving room for caisson supply units in developing oob units.)
...I'm working on a new units file for my Ligny/QB scenario, which while I'm at it will complete my "Where is Grouchy?" June 18 Waterloo/Wavre scenario. Playtesting needed, as I dont know if the ole Grouch can march to the sound of the guns on time. (Might make first playtest interesting.)
...von Ege: Getting close to some good ole Hub to Hub action? (Beautiful Daughters, not Somua tanks.)
02-01-2007, 04:02 AM,
Kuriltai Wrote:Red Mike and I are about half way done the 300+ turn campaign.We are playing the one with the strategic options.As Nappy, I decided to attack via Mons and caught my opponent off balance. Interesting so far!